0 In Disney/ Theme Parks/ Uncategorized

Gluten Free Disneyland & Disney World Guide

The ultimate gluten free Disneyland and Disney World guide. Disneyland and Disney World some of the most accommodating places when it comes to special diets. Whether you are vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, or paleo, there is something you can eat at any one of the parks or resorts! If you are planning a trip to Disney and need to stick to a gluten-free diet, here is your gluten-free guide to Disney!

gluten free disney

Gluten Free Disneyland and Disney World Guide

We have several members of our family who are gluten free. It can be a huge challenge to find gluten free foods when we want to dine out. Luckily, these days many restaurants are able to provide gluten free options and Disney parks and resorts is no different.

If you are have a gluten allergy or just prefer not to eat gluten there are tons of options for you at Disney parks. Check out these tips to make the most of your next trip.

The following are affiliate links. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites. Thank you for being part of  Hubbard Family Travels

Does Disneyland have Gluten free options?

Before you go, make sure to check out the Special Dietary Request section of the Disney World website. Many Disney locations can accommodate gluten or wheat allergies and are happy to offer an allergy-friendly menu with no further notice. While many of them can, all of them do not. If you are gluten-free, you should discuss your dietary requirements with your server when you arrive at your dining location, so you can consult with the chef or a special diets Cast Member if you need to. Please know that they do not have separate kitchens for allergy-friendly food, so they can’t guarantee that they are free from those allergens due to cross-contamination. 

You may also like: Disneyland vs Disney World: Which one is better?

How to make a special dietary request at Disney

You can find a full menu of all of Disney’s dining locations on their website, including many allergy-friendly menus as well. If you need to request a gluten-free experience, there are a few ways you can do that. First, indicate a gluten-free allergy or intolerance when you book your dining reservation by either noting it online or by calling to inform a Cast Member at the location. 

What gluten free foods can I eat at Disney?

There are a lot of great options at Disney World, Disneyland, and even on Disney Cruiselines for gluten-free diners! Here are some of my personal favorites! Make sure to ask for the allergy-friendly ones!

  • Dole Whip Float
  • Popcorn (the bagged popcorn treats are also gluten-free for these flavors: caramel, chocolate, cheddar, and confetti)
  • Beignets
  • Strawberries and Creme Macaroon Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Mickey Ice Cream Bar
  • Marshmallow Dream Bar
  • Mickey Waffle
  • Loaded Chili-Cheese Nachos
  • Jumbo Turkey Leg

You can find a full list of gluten-free menus here.

You may also like: Your Guide to Halloween at Disney

Check to see if some of your Disney favorites are gluten free:

Are Disneyland churros gluten free?

Unfortunately no. All the different varieties of churros at Disneyland resorts contain gluten. An alternative to the churros at Disney is the macarons. Different types of macarons are available at the parks and are gluten free simply because traditional macarons are made with almond flour.

Are Disneyland turkey legs gluten free?

Yes! The giant smoked turkey legs are Disney are indeed gluten-free.

Are Mickey Bars gluten free?

The Mickey Ice Cream bars are gluten free however the Mickey Ice Cream Sandwiches are not.

Are Dole Whips gluten free?

The Dole Whips have always been gluten free and now the fruit flavors are vegan as well!

Is Disney Popcorn gluten free?

Disney World’s freshly popped popcorn, found at a variety of outdoor kiosks throughout the Disney World theme parks, has long been gluten free, dairy free, and even vegan. Note: This does not apply to pre-packaged and pre-prepared popcorn or the flavored popcorn at Epcot.

What Disney restaurants can I find gluten free foods?

While you can look at a full list of menu items, and many can be custom made to be gluten-free, the next question you might be asking is where should I go? Many dining locations are more accommodating of special diets than others! Here are my top picks for the best places to go if you have a gluten-free diet! These restaurants are going to be the most accommodating in the parks!

  • 50’s Prime Time Cafe
  • ABC Commissary
  • Akershus Royal Banquet Hall
  • Biergarten
  • Coral Reef
  • Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Cafe
  • Crystal Palace
  • Flame Tree BBQ
  • Garden Grill
  • Hollywood Brown Derby
  • La Cantina de San Angel
  • Pizzafairi
  • Restaurantosaurus
  • Satu’li Canteen
  • Sci-Fi Dine-In
  • Sunshine Seasons
  • Tusker House
  • Yak and Yeti

If you are looking for some excellent recommendations for gluten-free restaurants in the resorts, here are my top picks!

You may also like: Things to Do in Anchorage with Kids

Disney resort restaurants with gluten free options

  • Beaches & Cream
  • Cape May Cafe
  • Everything Pop
  • Kona Cafe
  • Landscape of Flavors
  • Sanaa
  • The Wave
  • Whispering Canyon Cafe

Just because you are gluten-free doesn’t mean you can’t take a trip to Disney! Keep this guide handy when planning your trip to make sure you don’t miss out on fantastic dining experiences!

You may also like: 10 Free Things to do in Vancouver

Gluten free disneyland

What is your favorite gluten free treat at Disney? Let me know in the comments!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.